Sophie - Request for help: Can anybody in/near Greater Bristol take me in?
my journal
September 2016

Date: 2015-09-11 19:25
Security: Public
Subject: Request for help: Can anybody in/near Greater Bristol take me in?

Hi, all.

I know I haven't posted here for a long time, and I'm really sorry about that. I haven't been doing much with Dreamwidth lately.

However, my life is about to be turned upside-down, and I have a huge request to make.

At some point in the near future (probably in just over a month or so [see edit at bottom of post for new dates]), I'm going to need to stay in or near Bristol for a while - I don't know how long. I can't really talk much about the reasons why, except that they involve a dear friend of mine who's having a lot of issues right now, and will need a lot of care.

The trouble is, I have nowhere to stay while I'm there. I do know another friend in Bristol, but I've already asked a lot from them recently and it wouldn't be fair to put this on them as well. (I also haven't talk to them for a long while as I haven't seen them online for ages. I should get back in touch.)

The upshot is that I'm going to need to be able to stay with somebody in about a month from now, for an indeterminate length of time. (I'm imagining a maximum of a few months, but the truth is I just don't know.) I know this is a huge thing to ask of anybody, but is there anybody who might be willing to take me in? The closer to Bristol, the better. (Ideally, located *in* the City of Bristol, but that's not an absolute requirement - anywhere within Greater Bristol would work. I might consider offers from further afield like Cardiff if I don't have any closer, though.)

I would be bringing my own car, so I wouldn't need lifts anywhere. I would probably be gone for several hours a day, but when I'm back I would be able to give lifts, help about the house, and so on. I would pay for my own shopping, but might need some friendly reminders to actually *go* shopping or to do it online.

About me:

My name's Sophie Hamilton, and I'm a 33-year-old transgender woman. I tend to be fairly quiet and keep myself to myself, but I'm probably going to need to talk about things sometimes, and may need physical comfort if things are particularly bad. I'm good at listening, and have helped many friends through tough times.

I try hard not to be an asshole. I try to think about what I say before I do so, and I am very open-minded. I think that the interests list on my Dreamwidth profile does a pretty good job of describing my personality.

I'm a computer geek; I love to program, and I delight in knowing how things work. I like creating music - I've recently been experimenting a lot with SunVox, and I'm still working through my project to recreate every tune from the Chrono Trigger soundtrack in General MIDI.

I like gaming - computer or otherwise - and would love to play games in the off-time.

If you think that you might be able to help, or you have any questions, then please get in touch with me by commenting below (comments are screened for privacy and to allow for contact details and such to be posted) or sending me a private message. Also, please do point others to this post if you think they might be able to help! Thank you. <3

[edited 2015-10-02: I wasn't certain about plans when I initially made this post, but plans are a bit surer now. I'm going to need accomodation starting in the middle/end of November, though still for an indeterminate length of time. I still haven't got exact dates nailed down yet, but I'm working on that. If you can help, thank you so much!]

Post A Comment | Add to Memories | Tell Someone | Link